Air Force
Training Group
Air Force Training Group

Air Force Training Group (AFTG) is a long term strategic asset with the responsibility to train Air Force and selected personnel from Navy, Army and overseas Defence Forces. AFTG's vision is to be a world class combat focused training organisation with a mission to develop air power capability through the training of our people. AFTG comprises four major elements; HQAFTG, Air Training Wing, RAAF College responsible for all ground training, and Reserve Training Wing. Air Force Training Group is also responsible for the development of training policy and procedures. The group also supports Air Force public relations activities through the well-known Roulettes aerobatic team, the RAAF Balloon, the RAAF Museum and the Air Force Band.

Air Force Training Group consists of a headquarters and three wings comprising six flying units (including RAAF Museum), 21 ground schools of which 10 are Reserve squadrons, and the Air Force Band.

Each of the four major units, have a specific responsibility in relation to Air Force training, and report directly to Commander Air Force Training Group:

  • Headquarters Air Force Training Group
  • Air Training Wing
  • RAAF College
  • Reserve Training Wing

Air Force Training Group, formerly Training Command – Air Force, came under the control of Air Commander Australia as a Force Element Group on 1 July 2006. The group headquarters is currently located at RAAF Base Williams - Laverton, Victoria, with previous sites including Albert Park in 1953, Victoria Barracks in 1959 and Point Cook in 1990.

Headquarters Air Force Training Group (HQ AFTG), located at RAAF Base Williams - Laverton, Victoria, is responsible for the provision of policy guidance, support and strategic planning to Commander Air Force Training Group for the successful management of Air Force training.  In addition, HQ AFTG conducts higher-level training evaluation studies, training design, research and development in the area of training technology, and provides oversight of rationalised training on behalf of Air Force. The headquarters also issues nationally recognised civilian awards based on Service vocational training and experience.

Air Training Wing is responsible for conducting basic and instructor training for pilots, air combat officers, and air traffic controllers; basic photographer training and aircrew combat survival training in the Air Force and for selected Australian Defence Force personnel. Air Training Wing manages the following units that are located throughout Australia: No. 2 Flying Training School (Pearce); Combat Survival and Training School (Townsville); ADF Basic Flying Training School (Tamworth); Central Flying School (East Sale); School of Air Warfare (East Sale); School of Air Traffic Control (East Sale); No. 32 Squadron (East Sale) and RAAF Museum (Williams – Point Cook).

Air Training Wing operates PC-9/A aircraft for Pilot training (at No. 2 Flying Training School) and Pilot Instructor training (at Central Flying School). No. 32 Squadron operates B350 aircraft that provide direct support to the School of Air Warfare. Air Training Wing also promotes RAAF Public Relations through flypasts and flying displays by the RAAF Roulettes, the RAAF Museum and the RAAF Balloon.

RAAF College is responsible for all initial, career development, promotion and leadership training. RAAF College also provides entry level and specialist training across a broad range of ground-base musterings and specialisations including security, fire and ground defence, administration and logistics, technical trades, and explosive ordnance. RAAF College manages the following Schools and Units around Australia:  No. 1 Recruit Training Unit (Wagga); Officer Training School (East Sale); School of Postgraduate Studies (Wagga), with Corporal promotion centres at Richmond and Amberley; Air Force Band (Williams). RAAF College promotes Public Relations through the Air Force Band.

Reserve Training Wing formed on 1 January 2006 at RAAF Base Amberley.  Reserve Training Wing provides ground training to the Air Force Reserve, and training and administrative support to ADF unit employing Air Force Reserves. Reserve Training Wing manages the following squadrons located around Australia: 13SQN (Darwin); 21SQN (Williams); 22SQN (Richmond); 23SQN (Amberley); 24SQN (Edinburgh); 25SQN (Perth); 26SQN (Williamtown); 27SQN (Townsville); 28SQN (Canberra); and 29SQN (Hobart).