Department of Air – Russell Hill

17 Oct 1960

The Department of Air began to occupy its permanent offices at the Russell Hill Defence precinct in the national capital. Building No 1 was the first of four office blocks under construction on the site, and was planned to house the Air Staff and Secretariat of the Department of Air. The rest of the Department would occupy a second building scheduled for completion by May 1961.