First Squadron Standards awarded to RAAF units

15 Jan 1958

Three squadrons were presented with the first Squadron Standards awarded to any RAAF units. At Tengah, Singapore, No 1 Squadron received its Standard from Air Marshal the Earl of Bandon, the Commander-in-Chief Far East Air Force, RAF. Meanwhile back in Australia, at Air Force Base Williamtown, Nos 3 and 77 Squadrons were both presented with their Standards by Air Marshal Sir Richard Williams at a parade of No 78 (Fighter) Wing, which formed part of Air Force Week celebrations.