No 2 Airfield Defence Squadron was formed (No 2 Security Forces Squadron)

10 May 1945

Motto: Defend the Eyrie

Battle Honours: Pacific 1945, Borneo 1945, Morotai, East Timor 1999-2000

No 2 Airfield Defence Squadron was formed on 10 April 1945 at Morotai. The unit, now No 2 Security Forces Squadron, is part of No 95 Wing with the headquarters based at RAAF Base Amberley. Its main responsibilities include security and air base defence for domestic airbase operations in all permanent RAAF bases in Queensland and the Northern Territories, as well as deploying for expeditionary air base operations.

After its formation, the Squadron was commanded by FLTLT John C. Fullerton. Initially a headquarters and five rifle companies were established within the Squadron.

The Squadron's first casualty was LAC Thomas J. Irvine, who was a part of A (Rifle) Flight during Operation Oboe One during World War II. Operation Oboe involved amphibious assaults against the Japanese in Borneo.

The Squadron was disbanded on 29 October 1945, but was reformed in 1951 at Western Junction, Tasmania to train National Service personnel. However, it was disbanded again on 12 September 1952, without ever becoming operational.

The Squadron was reformed as No 2 Airfield Defence Squadron on 17 March 1983 under the command of SQNLDR James B.H. Brown. It absorbed airfield defence guard flights at RAAF Bases Williamtown, Amberley, and Fairbairn as Nos 2, 3, and 4 Rifle Flights. The Squadron often participated in joint exercises with the army.

Between March 1987 and April 1988, all personnel under Sergeant rank were temporarily diverted from operational roles to gate guards at RAAF bases, which resulted in a decline in morale. However, morale improved when the Squadron returned to operational capacity in April 1988.

In 1991, the Squadron won the Gloucester Cup, making it the first non-flying unit to win the award for most proficient operational squadron. The Squadron also received the Freedom of the City by the Lord Mayor of Brisbane on 22 April 1995 and the Military Working Dogs Section won the Lady Hannah and Bill Perrett perpetual shield for 2020.

The Squadron has been deployed to various locations, including Dili for Operations Spitfire, Warden and Stabilise, Covid Assist (Australia), Iraq, Sumatra, Solomon Islands, and Pakistan. It was also responsible for the protection of the Pope during his visit to Australia for World Youth Day in 2008.

The Squadron was re-equipped with the F88 Austeyr assault rifle in May 1992 and in 2007/2008 the Squadron was equipped with the Bushmaster protected mobility vehicles.

The Squadron received the Squadron Standard from the Governor General on 19 May 2011 and was deployed to Afghanistan in November 2012. Following a restructure in 2013, the name of the Squadron was changed to No 2 Security Forces Squadron.

To learn more see this extract from Units of the Royal Australian Air Force by Despina Tramoundanis.

Related base

  • RAAF Base Amberley