Air Combat Group

Air Combat Group is one of the largest Force Element Groups in the Air Force. It controls all of the Royal Australian Air Force's fast-jet combat aircraft to enable control of the air and conduct precision air strikes.. The Group comprises 145 aircraft, 163 aircrew and 2000 support personnel based across Australia.

The Group was formed in January 2002 by merging the Tactical Fighter Group and Strike Reconnaissance Group.

Headquarters is located at the RAAF Base Williamtown near Newcastle. Personnel are also located at RAAF Base Amberley (QLD), and RAAF Base Tindal (NT).

The Group commands three operational wings:

  • No 78 Wing conducts operational training
  • No 81 Wing controls the air
  • No 82 Wing strikes designated targets and conducts surveillance.

Air Combat Group operates:

  • F-35A Lightning II
  • F/A-18F Super Hornets
  • E/A-18G Growler
  • Hawk 127
  • PC-21 (Forward Air Control)

Air Combat Group capabilities have been an important element in operations and exercises such as:

  • Operation Okra
  • Operation Slipper
  • Operation Guardian IIĀ 
  • Operation Falconer
  • Exercise Pitch BlackĀ 
  • Exercise Red Flag in the United States.