Woomera Prohibited Area – Important information about Stuart Hwy access and Green Zone closure in December

Welcome to Woomera.
Access to the Woomera Prohibited Area (WPA) in South Australia is subject to exclusion periods during which the Department of Defence may undertake war materiel testing.
For safety and security reasons, designated zones within the WPA will be closed and you may be required to evacuate the area during the notified exclusion periods. A map of the exclusion zones is at Attachment A.
Defence’s exclusion periods are also published here and on the Federal Register of Legislation here.
Suspension of the Standing Permission to access the Stuart Highway 5-6 December
Access to travel on the Stuart Highway will be suspended from time to time during the period from 5 December to 6 December 2020 inclusive.
There will be warning signs and access control points in place for the closures.  Access to the highway will be re‑opened at the earliest opportunity.
Please refer to the notice at Attachment B.
Partial closure of Green Zone 3-9 December
Part of the Green Zone is closed from 3 December to 9 December 2020 inclusive. Please refer to the map at Attachment A that shows the bounded area of the Green Zone affected by the closure.
For those persons with permission to enter and remain in the WPA under Regulation 35 of the Defence Force Regulations 1952, this permission has been suspended during the dates of the Green Zone closure.
Amber Zones 1 and 2 Exclusion Periods – Update
The Amber Zone exclusion period closures previously advised for the financial year 1 July 2020 to 30 June 2021 are in effect as follows:
a)       Amber Zone 1 remains closed from 5 November to 9 December 2020 inclusive.
b)      Amber Zone 2 was to be closed from 19 November to 9 December 2020. This zone will now only be closed from 3 December 2020 to 9 December 2020 inclusive, which includes sections of the Anne Beadell Highway. Those with Defence’s permission may access Amber Zone 2 from 19 November to 2 December 2020 inclusive.
Remaining Amber Zone exclusion periods for Financial Year 2020-21
The remaining exclusion periods for the financial year 1 July 2020 to 30 June 2021 are:
a)       Amber Zone 1 – Exclusion periods 5 November 2020 to 9 December 2020 inclusive and 8 March 2021 to 9 May 2021 inclusive.
b)      Amber Zone 2 – Exclusion periods 3 December 2020 to 9 December 2020 inclusive and 22 March 2021 to 11 April 2021 inclusive.
Notifications and exclusion period variations
You are encouraged to regularly review the exclusion period information published on the WPA website.
Further information or advice
For information on the exclusion period closures please contact the Woomera Test Range:
Call 1300 WPA DEL (1300 972 335 option 1) to check daily information about access restrictions.