Army and Air Force Change of Command Ceremonies

Operation Details Tab

Two change of command ceremonies will take place Friday, 1 July, 2022 to welcome the new Chief of Army, Lieutenant General Simon Stuart AO, DSC and also Air Force, Air Marshal Robert Chipman AM, CSC.
The ceremonies will also farewell the outgoing Chief of Army Lieutenant General Rick Burr AO, DSC, MVO, and Chief of Air Force Air Marshal Mel Hupfeld AO, DSC.  These officers have served our nation with great distinction.
DATE:                         Friday, 1 July 2022

TIME:                          Air Force Change of Command –11.45pm for 12pm
                                    start, until 1pm.
                                    Army Change of Command – 1:45pm for 2pm start,
                                    until 3:30pm.
VENUE:                      Sir Thomas Blamey Square, Russell Offices, ACT 2600
IMAGERY:                  Imagery of the new leadership can be found on the
                                    Defence Image Gallery.
Australian Defence Force aircraft will conduct flypasts at both respective events. Air Force will contribute up to three F/A-18F Super Hornets, a P-8A Poseidon and an aircraft from Number 100 Squadron around 12:30pm.
An Australian Army MRH90 and ARH Tiger will also conduct a flypast of this area at around 2:15pm.
All low level flying activities are conducted within strict safety and operational guidelines.
Flying is subject to change due to variables such as air traffic control requirements, weather, and other aviation considerations.
Noise reduction and the environment are vital considerations in the planning and conduct of military flying. 

Information on aircraft noise and current flying activities is available at, or by calling 1300 DEFENCE (1300 333 362)

Want to stay up to date with what we’re up to? Check out Air Force News.