Chief of Air Force change of command ceremony

Operation Details Tab


Chief of Air Force, Air Marshal Leo Davies, AO CSC will officially hand over command of the Royal Australian Air Force to Air Marshal Mel Hupfeld, AO DSC at a formal Change of Command Ceremony and parade on Wednesday 3 July, which will include flypasts by multiple aircraft.

The flypasts will feature the aircraft types that have been accepted into Air Force during the tenure of the outgoing Chief of Air Force, including:

  • EA-18G Growler
  • P-8A Poseidon
  • Dassault Falcon 7X
  • PC-21
  • and the F-35A Joint Strike Fighter.

DATE: Wednesday 3 July 2019

TIME: 10:00am – Change of Command Ceremony commences
           10:35am – Aircraft flypasts commence

LOCATION: Sir Thomas Blamey Square, Russell Offices, Canberra ACT.

The aircraft will approach Sir Thomas Blamey Square from the south, flying low over Parliament House, along King’s Avenue, and over Russell Offices.

Further information about the aircraft in the flypast can be found on our Aircraft pages.

Note: Flypasts are subject to variables including air traffic control requirements, weather and operational availability. As such, flypasts and displays may be subject to cancellation at short notice. 

Information on aircraft noise and current flying activities is available at, or by calling 1300 DEFENCE (1300 333 362)