No. 77 Squadron to conduct "double seven" commemorative formation

Operation Details Tab

Air Force’s No. 77 Squadron (77SQN) will conduct a flypast over RAAF Base Williamtown, including the Lower Hunter and Port Stephens Council region in a “double seven” formation on Friday, 5 July.
The formation will include up to 16 x  F/A-18A/B Hornets from 77SQN, from RAAF Base Williamtown, in commemoration of the Squadron’s 77 years of operations.
The aircraft will depart the base at around 11am and conduct the formation over Nelson Bay, Medowie, Raymond Terrace and Newcastle between 11.20 – 11.40am before returning to base at approximately 11.45am.
The double seven formation was also flown in 1955 using the Gloster Meteor aircraft when the Squadron conducted a return to Australia tour at the end of the Korean War.  
Commanding Officer 77SQN Wing Commander (WGCDR) Jason Easthope said that these flying activities play an important role in acknowledging the unit’s proud history, upholding its rich legacy and honouring the sacrifices the Squadron has made.
“77SQN is a front line Operational Fighter Squadron which has supported campaigns in the South Pacific, Korea, Malaysia and most recently in Iraq,” WGCDR Easthope said.
“We are also nearing the end of an era, where in 18 months 77SQN will cease Hornet operations and transition to the F-35A Joint Strike Fighter.
“The Hornet has served Australia well over the years and this commemorative flypast is also part of acknowledging that.”
WGCDR Easthope thanked the local community for their ongoing support.
All flying is subject to change due to weather and operational requirements.

Information on aircraft noise and current flying activities is available at, or by calling 1300 DEFENCE (1300 333 362)