Veterans' Residences Trust

The RAAF Veterans' Residences Trust was established by the Royal Australian Air Force Veterans' Residences Act 1953. It provides residences for former members of the Air Force and their families who are in need.

The finance for the trust came from a prize given to Commonwealth Air Forces during World War II, of which the Air Force's share was $458,000. Over the years, this has been invested to acquire 76 residences throughout Australia. They are located in:

  • Brisbane
  • Sydney
  • Melbourne
  • Adelaide and
  • Hobart.

The residences are generally a one or two-bedroom unfurnished, self-contained unit.

The Trustees meet about four times each year, usually in March, June, September and December. The Trust prepares an annual report to Parliament which is despatched to the Minister (currently the Minister assisting the Minister for Defence) before 15 October.

Yearly Corporate Plans

Annual Reports

Contact details

Further information about the operation of the Trust, including eligibility and Applications for Tenancy, can be obtained from:

RAAF Veterans' Residences Trust
L474 - GF - R41
RAAF Williams

Email: raaf.vrt [at] (Subject: Air%20Force%20website%20enquiry)

Office Managers
Manager: Mr Wayne Bingham
Phone: (03) 9256 0002
Email: wayne.bingham [at]

Assistant Manager: Mr. John Negus
Phone: (03) 9256 0003
Email:john.negus [at] ( )

Fax: (03) 9256 0004