Visit Us Museum Shop Junior Aviator Contact Us
Special Exhibitions Upcoming Displays New Acquisitions
Special Exhibition Heritage Gallery Training Hangar Technology Hangar Hangar 180 External Displays Flying Displays Restoration Projects Behind the Scenes
General Events Aircraft Historical 360° Hangar Views
RAAF Badge RAAF Bases RAAF Units Personnel Records RAAF Aircraft
Volunteers Friends

Elementary Flying Training Schools

During World War II, the RAAF established twelve Elementary Flying Training Schools (EFTS) to meet the rapid demand for pilots in an expanding Air Force. Located in all states except the Northern Territory, these Flying Training Schools provided initial pilot training to students under the Empire Air Training Scheme. The locations of these schools were as follows:

•  No 1 EFTS - Parafield, South Australia and Tamworth, New South Wales;
•  No 2 EFTS - Archerfield, Queensland;
•  No 3 EFTS - Essendon, Victoria;
•  No 4 EFTS - Mascot, New South Wales;
•  No 5 EFTS - Narromine, New South Wales;
•  No 6 EFTS - Tamworth, New South Wales;
•  No 7 EFTS - Western Junction, Tasmania;
•  No 8 EFTS - Narrandera, New South Wales;
•  No 9 EFTS - Cunderdin, Western Australia;
•  No 10 EFTS - Temora, New South Wales;
•  No 11 EFTS - Benalla, Victoria; and
•  No 12 EFTS - Bundaberg and Lowood, Queensland.

back to top back to RAAF units page