Visit Us Museum Shop Junior Aviator Contact Us
Special Exhibitions Upcoming Displays New Acquisitions
Special Exhibition Heritage Gallery Training Hangar Technology Hangar Hangar 180 External Displays Flying Displays Restoration Projects Behind the Scenes
General Events Aircraft Historical 360° Hangar Views
RAAF Badge RAAF Bases RAAF Units Personnel Records RAAF Aircraft
Volunteers Friends

Service Flying Training Schools

To meet the demand for aircrew during World War II, the RAAF established eight Service Flying Training Schools to train pilots, air observers and wireless air gunners under the Empire Air Training Scheme.

Operating with an assortment of aircraft including Wirraways and Ansons, the eight Service Flying Training Schools graduated over 13,000 aircrew for service with the RAAF. The locations of these schools were as follows:

•  No 1 SFTS - Point Cook, Victoria;
•  No 2 SFTS - Forrest Hill, New South Wales;
•  No 3 SFTS - Amberley, Queensland;
•  No 4 SFTS - Geraldton, Western Australia;
•  No 5 SFTS - Uranquinty, New South Wales;
•  No 6 SFTS - Mallala, South Australia;
•  No 7 SFTS - Deniliquin, New South Wales; and
•  No 8 SFTS - Bundaberg, Queensland.

back to top back to RAAF units page